Bluehost Web Hosting Help

What to do if your Google My Business Location has Already Been Claimed

If this is happening to you, you’re probably feeling pretty annoyed. We would be, too. Luckily, there is a fix.

 

Don't Panic

Usually, this kind of thing happens for innocent reasons. For example, a former employee or a marketing agency might have created a Google My Business listing for you at some point, so they would still "own" your profile. Taking ownership of your business's profile usually involves figuring out who set up your Business Profile and having them transfer it to you. Google will help you along the way.


Google will try to get access for you automatically

Google will automatically send an email to whomever "owns" the listing, asking them to grant you access or to transfer ownership directly to you. Google will also email you, letting you know what's going on. From your Google account console, you should see a notification that your listing has been marked as duplicate along with a message like this:
 

"It looks like you've attempted to add a business that has already been verified on Google. The current owner can add you as a manager or transfer ownership to you. You may also be able to do this yourself if you have access to the account which manages the business on Google. Go through the options below to get help."

After that, the current listing owner will have 7 days to respond. You can check the status by signing in to Google My Business or by clicking the link in your confirmation email.

When the current "owner" approves your request, Google will let you know by email, and you'll be able to start using and managing your listing right away.

Reach out to the "Owner" Yourself

If you know who set up the listing, you can reach out to them directly and ask them to grant you access. This can speed up the process since it's usually just an oversight.

What if the "Owner" Denies the Request?

If the current "owner" denies your request, you'll get an email from Google. You can suggest edits to the listing or even flag it for removal by following these instructions. Also, you might be able to appeal the denied request.
If you don't get a response after 3-7 days, you might have the option to claim the listing yourself. Sign in to Google My Business, and look for a Claim or Verify button on your dashboard. If you don't see an option to claim the profile, that means the listing can't be transferred.

For more information on what to do if your business listing has been flagged as duplicate because it has already been claimed, go to Google's article on Removing Duplicate Locations.

Please note, since Google My Business is owned and managed by Google Bluehost doesn’t manage the process. That means our support agents don’t have a way to expedite or control this process for you. Everything will have to be managed through Google.


See Google's article What to do After you have Requested Ownership for more information on what comes next.

Knowledgebase Article 73 views bookmark tags: business claim google mybusiness owner request tools


Was this resource helpful?

Did this resolve your issue?


Please add any other comments or suggestions about this content:





Recommended Help Content

How to Verify your Business with Google My Business

If you own a brick-and-mortar store with a fixed location or a business that covers a service area, verifying your business on Google My Business is essential to helping customers find your business location, address, hours of operation, and more.

How to Manage your Google My Business Listing from your Control Panel

You can edit basic information like hours of operation, phone number, website URL, and the business category in just a few simple steps; however, changing your business name or location is a bit more complicated.

What is Google My Business?

Google My Business is a free service that helps your customers find your business (online and in the real world). It also helps you connect with your customers online.

Related Help Content

Transfer Domain Ownership

In December 2016, ICANN implemented a few amendments to their Transfer Policy. In addition to regulating inter-registrar transfers for general top-level domains (gTLDs), the updated policy sets new requirements for domain tr

Google Ads FAQ

In summer of 2019, Google Ads will be introduced in Rock accounts. Cobiro is a marketing tool that allows you to manage Google Ads from within your account. This article answers some commonly asked questions.

Cobiro Budget & Billing

How much are you actually paying Google? How do you set your budget? This article answers those questions among others you may have about the billing or budget aspects of your Cobiro marketing service.

How to Share your Backup with Professional Services

When you purchase a website transfer, you may need to upload and share a backup of their website with professional services. This article will explain how to share a backup using DropBox or Google Drive.

How does Cobiro Work?

As an official Google Premier Partner, Cobiro can build and manage customized Google Ads campaigns based on your business goals using AI to optimize your campaign. This article describes how Cobiro works.

How To Transfer Domain Name To A New Registrar

This article explains how to prepare your domain to be transferred from Bluehost to a new registrar. You'll initiate the transfer itself with the gaining registrar, but there are a few things you can do to ensure the process goes smoothly.

Domain Transfer Troubleshooting

There are multiple reasons why a domain transfer may fail. This article explains several reasons why your transfer may be unsuccessful and what you can do to fix it.

Shared Hosting Marketing Offers

With the purchase of a bluehost shared hosting account, you will also have the ability to use several tools, as well as marketing credits. This article explains the credits provided and how to redeem them.